If you like to share photos and videos via WhatsApp, be careful. The popular messenger's service is a change on Monday – and everything can get lost.
Good news on WhatsApp from Monday
Update from Saturday November 10th: Those who do not want to risk losing all photos, videos and chats received or sent via WhatsApp should now act quickly: Monday will be an important change to the messenger that can lead to it.
Messenger service redirects to the new storage settings for Android users. The reason for this is an initial collaboration between WhatsApp and Google. An innovation that actually meets the users. So far, data such as chat history, photos, and videos have always been backed up in Google's online storage. The big problem was that the amount of data was based on the free space Google provided to all customers (15 GB). Henceforth, the memory will be saved. But before that, users should clean up large ones, so that unnecessary storage space is not lost unnecessarily. Therefore, a backup of data must be made, otherwise the Messenger service will be cleared on its own.
If you want to keep your information, check up on Monday, November 12 if the data has been backed up within the last 12 months. If so, there is no risk of unexpected data loss. But if the latest backup is already a long time, a new backup is required. This works by calling the "Chat Backup" sub-item in the chat settings. There, all data can be saved manually via the green "Save" button. Options: Enable automatic data backup.
iPhone users are not affected. Their data is stored on Apple's online storage iCloud.
NOTE: WhatsApp removes photos and videos of users – our article from August 21, 2018
Munich – Anyone want to send a photo or a video directly to their friends and acquaintances, do it mostly via WhatsApp (Krass WhatsApp change awaits, as extratipp.com * is reported). Media attachments can be sent and received quickly and easily via messenger service, and a built-in backup feature makes it easy to save data in the cloud. So they stay even when they lose or replace the smartphone.
However, it will change in the data security system in November 2018, which may also result in the user's photos, video clips or chat history being deleted.
What are these changes? WhatsApp uses the Google Drive cloud for backup, giving each user a free storage quota of 15 gigabytes. This free quota also stores backup data for the messaging service. So if you get a lot of videos via WhatsApp, you can quickly reach the limit of memory. It should change later this year.
Also read: WhatsApp- "Momo" occurred on Minecraft – Microsoft sees danger to children
The changes that WhatsApp will do will also bring benefits to users because they no longer count on the Google Drive storage quota as of November 12, 2018. So users can enable automatic backup without worrying about their cloud storage. That's what WhatsApp advertised on its FAQ page. But watch out! This change will remove all backup data from users that have not been updated for over a year.
WhatsApp: No Auto Backup? How to protect your data before deletion
Those who have issued automatic data backup and have not performed a manual backup for more than one year should therefore act until the key date if they do not want to lose their data. WhatsApp also recommends a manual backup on its website. You can do this by going to "Chat Backup" in the chat settings. There, all data can be saved manually via the green "Save" button.
You can also set an automatic backup that stores your data at the intervals you specify.
Also read: Radical change in WhatsApp – which was not planned for a long time
WhatsApp: Save your data in good time!
Therefore, all users who do not want to lose their chat history, photos and videos should take the above steps to keep their tasks. The deadline for backup and deletion of old data is November 12, 2018. However, it is advisable to take care of a backup on time.
* extratipp.com is part of the nationwide Ippen Digital Editorial Network.